Test measures

Ohio's State Tests measure each child's progress according to Ohio's Learning Standards. These standards tell teachers what their students should know and be able to do at the end of each grade or course. The standards also call for students to apply critical thinking, problem-solving and writing skills to what they are learning.

Test your child will take if in:

3rd grade, Reading (fall and spring), Math (spring)

4th grade, Reading and Math (spring)

5th grade, Reading, Math and Science (spring)

6th grade, Reading, Math (spring)

7th  grade, Reading and Math (spring)

8th  grade, Reading, Math and Science (spring)

What parents can expect

Because Ohio’s state tests have only recently begun measuring these "higher order" skills, your child’s scores may be lower than you expected. This does not mean your child is losing ground. Instead, Ohio has raised expectations for its students so that by the time they graduate they are truly ready for college or a career. Your student’s skills should improve as educators continue to teach these concepts.

9th - 12th Grade
Test your child will test in the following areas:

English Language Arts I and II

Algebra I


Integrated Math I and II

American Government


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.