BIS spotlighted during BCS Board meeting

BIS spotlighted during BCS Board meeting
Posted on 04/16/2024
Bellefontaine School Board

The Bellefontaine School Board held its monthly meeting in the Bellefontaine Intermediate School Library Monday night.

A large crowd attended and enjoyed a student-led presentation.

BIS Principal Krista Adelsberger and BIS Gifted Intervention Specialist Lindy Martin served as the emcees.

Students Matthew Torsell, Joelle Eaton, Mia Regula, Griffin Burkhardt, and Desmond Howard explained the Chieftain Culture Club.

Students Eva Irick, Devyn Hogan, Karly Holtkamp, and Cardyn Rawlins were also part of the presentation.

The Culture Club is a group of 4th- and 5th-grade students who work with Principal Adelsberger to improve the climate at Bellefontaine Intermediate School.

They work in committees to divide and conquer the needs the club sees throughout the building.

BIS students also provide morning announcements on video each day.

Finally, students around the building enjoy service learning each Monday. This activity promotes life skills for students.

The board then honored a longtime employee.

Bellefontaine Elementary School Nurse Melissa Miller is the Classified Employee of the Year.

Miller has been taking care of BES students and staff for the last 11 years.

She was praised for her commitment and selfless service.

The board heard two other presentations.

BHS Quiz Bowl Coach Cliff Core detailed the team's trip to the national competition in Chicago on April 26th-28th.

The team qualified for the national meet last month.

Team members Oliver Moreland, Jeffrey Smith, Nolan Core, Emma Crabtree, and Elliett Lang will compete at the national meet, which will feature 84 schools.

Mr. Core led the board members through a quick competition with a few sample questions during the meeting.

The BHS Academic Boosters along with donations from community members will pay for the trip to Chicago.

Bellefontaine High School Vocal Music Teacher Brice Henry then addressed the board about a proposed trip to New York City on May 21-25, 2025.

BHS Symphonic Choir members will perform in New York.

Upcoming fundraisers will help offset the cost for each student.

In personnel, the board accepted the following resignations:

Shelby Kromer - Family & Consumer Science Teacher

Amber Newkirk - Intervention Specialist

Candace Wagner - Intervention Specialist

Matt Heaston - Technology Coordinator

The following hires were approved:

Lauren Houseman - High School Associate Principal

Houseman has spent the last 16 years at Springfield City Schools. She has been an instructional coach and English teacher.

Angela Lowe - Intervention Specialist

Elaine Keller - Intervention Specialist

Trevor Woods - Media Production

The following were hired to teach summer school:

Megan Cira (Administrator)

Sandi Chervenak

Carol Fultz

DJ Howell

Tyler Johnson

Angela Lowe

Stacy Penhorwood

Hailee Price

Joliece Reed

Jon Reminder

Tamara Schneider (Paraprofessional)

Hailee Price was hired as a substitute teacher.

Brittany Case was hired as a substitute custodian.

Stephen Funderburgh was hired for summer maintenance.

Anastasia Hiatt was approved as an athletic worker.

In supplementals, Ric Prine was approved as a volunteer softball coach.

The board approved the respective student handbooks for the elementary school (K-5), middle school, and high school.

The board also approved the middle school athletic code and high school athletic code.

The board approved the BHS Quiz Bowl National Trip to Chicago on April 26th-28th.

Finally, the board recognized April Seniors of the Month Kadence Jones and Caleb Torsell. They each received an achievement pin and a $15 gift card to Ron’s Pizza.

The board entered into executive session. No action was taken.

The next board meeting will be May 13th at 6:30 p.m. in the Bellefontaine Elementary School Library.

Photos: The Bellefontaine School Board meets in the Bellefontaine Intermediate School Library.

BIS Chieftain Culture Club members speak to the board.

BCS Classified Employee of the Year Melissa Miller (left) and BES Principal Jenny Salyer

Kadence Jones (left) and Caleb Torsell

Bellefontaine School Board

BIS Culture Club members speak to the board.

Melissa Miller (left) and BES Principal Jenny Salyer

Kadence Jones (left) and Caleb Torsell
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.