BCS Board thanks Sanford in final meeting

BCS Board thanks Sanford in final meeting
Posted on 12/12/2023
L to R: Brenda Sanford, Brad Hall, and Colin Yoder

The Bellefontaine Board of Education met Monday night and thanked an outgoing board member for her many years of service.

Brenda Sanford is retiring after 24 years of service on the board.

Superintendent Brad Hall thanked Sanford for her many years of leadership.

Hall then presented a steel apple to Sanford.

Initially, Sanford ran because of her passion for education.

She reflected on her 6 terms following Monday's meeting.

Brenda said restructuring the 4 neighborhood elementaries (Pine Avenue, Northeastern, Southeastern, and Western) into one elementary school was a highlight.

Sanford also focused on the mental health and emotional well-being of BCS students during her tenure.

Brenda's husband, Jim, and their daughter, Kristen Lang, attended the meeting.

Lang was elected in November to succeed her mother.

Brenda, who graduated from BHS in '76, will continue in her role as a mental health therapist at Light the Way Christian Counseling Center in Bellefontaine.

BCS Board President Colin Yoder said, "Brenda has been an incredible asset to the community in her service. She brought a level of expertise and experience along with calm and reason to the board."

Bellefontaine Athletic Director Matt Comstock presented a fall athletic wrap-up.

Comstock announced that longtime BHS football coach Jason Brown has resigned to focus 100 percent on his role as the high school principal along with being a father.

Brown led the Chiefs' football program for the last 4 years. He was also the Bellefontaine head football coach from ’03 through ’09.

The '23 football season was historic. BHS won 3 playoff games for the first time in school history, tied the school record for wins in a season with 11, and finished as the regional runner-up.

Comstock also showcased the success of other fall sports.

The girls tennis team had the most wins in 15 years.

The volleyball team recorded the most wins in 12 years.

Cross country standouts Grace Brown and Hayden Maus competed at the state meet.

Finally, Comstock highlighted a livestream partnership with Horvath Productions and WBCS.

Horvath Productions livestreamed football, volleyball, and soccer matches throughout the fall.

WBCS students gained hands-on experience during these broadcasts.

The board approved their meeting schedule for 2024.

Board meetings will be held on January 8th, February 12th, March 11th, April 15th, May 13th, June 10th, July 8th, August 12th, September 9th, October 14th, November 11th, and December 9th.

The board accepted a donation of several tons of gravel along with the hauling expense from Neer's Sand and Gravel.

In personnel, BES physical education teacher Fame Faler resigned on November 17th.

The following teachers were approved as substitutes for the second semester of '23-'24:

Tori-Ann Bailey
Madeline Baird
Rosalind Brown
Gay Brunswick
Vanessa Bumgardner
Lillie Elliot
Kristen Elton
Phil Forsythe
Frank Giannola
Tricia Hefner
Joseph Kost
Linda McQuinley
Kristy Mount
Mikael Neeley
Beth Powers
Madison Rader
Tom Rose
Heather Shaw
Joni Siler
Karl Smith
Mary Smith
Sara Stahler
Sharon Traul
Virginia Viveros
Mark Wahl
April White
Maureen Yoder

The following were approved for the second semester of '23-'24 under the Ohio 1 year temporary non-bachelor's substitute teaching license:

Avani Abhyankar
Abbi Adelsberger
Sophie Adelsberger
Totiayana Bailey
Ally Barker
Joseph Boop
Trista Denbow
Delmar Fogan
Katherine Furr
Aliya Furton
Karis Garcia
Ian Higgins
Landon Kelley
Cadence Latimer
Kristin Lowe
Laney Mitchell
Riley Myers
Julia Nelson
Beth Overs
Boris Pattison
Joslyn Robinson
Polly Rodenhausen
Caitlyn Shumaker
Owen Standley
Aubrey Stolly
Tayteum Vigansky
Gwendolyn Walters
Kamryn Webb

In other personnel, Tami Hardin was approved as a substitute educational aide.

Alysia Kuba was approved as a substitute nurse.

Several supplemental contracts were approved, including:

Maverick Aldo - Musical Production Assistant

Jere Daniels - Musical Production Assistant (50 percent)

Keri Fergus - Musical Production Assistant

Robin Henry - Musical Production Assistant (50 percent)

Brian Hogan - Musical Production Assistant

The following volunteer coaches were approved:

Damon Dixon - High School Boys Wrestling

Chelsea Horsley - High School Girls Wrestling

Andrew Madley - High School Girls Wrestling

The board appointed Colin Yoder as President Pro-Tempore for the organizational meeting on January 8th.

Finally, the board recognized December Seniors of the Month Alexza Clifton and Zane Tevis. They each received an achievement pin and a $15 gift card to Ron’s Pizza.

The next board meeting will be January 8th at 6:30 p.m. in the Distance Learning Center. The organizational meeting will be followed by the regular meeting.

Photos: Superintendent Brad Hall presents a steel apple to retiring board member Brenda Sanford. Board President Colin Yoder (right) looks on.

Retiring board member Brenda Sanford is joined by the rest of the school board during her final meeting.

Seniors of the Month Zane Tevis (left) and Alexza Clifton

L to R: Brenda Sanford, Brad Hall, and Colin Yoder

Retiring board member Brenda Sanford is joined by the rest of the school board.

Zane Tevis (left) and Alexza Clifton
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.