BHS announces Athletic Hall of Fame inductees

BHS announces Athletic Hall of Fame inductees
Posted on 01/19/2022
Somer Spain

Three athletes along with a team, a coach, and a longtime supporter will be inducted into the Bellefontaine High School Athletic Hall of Fame on Friday, January 21st.

Somer Spain, Ben Fulton, and Chris Walden will be inducted.

The 1999 BHS Boys Track Team has also been chosen for the hall of fame.

Late wrestling coach Jim McDonald and longtime team doctor Art Costin have been selected as well.

Spain starred in cross country and track at Bellefontaine.

She has the fastest 1600, 3200, 3200 relay, and 6400 relay times in school history.

Spain helped the Lady Chiefs win 3 CBC championships in cross country.

She was a two-time state qualifier in track in the 1600 and 3200.

Somer graduated from BHS in 1996.

Fulton starred on the gridiron and diamond.

He earned 3 varsity letters in football and 4 varsity letters in baseball.

As a senior, Fulton helped the Chiefs upset defending state champ Columbus DeSales in the football playoffs. BHS advanced to the regional finals that season.

He rushed for over 1,500 yards and scored 20 touchdowns in his final season.

Fulton was named First-Team CBC in ’98 and ’99.

In baseball, Fulton was named team MVP his senior season.

He hit .434 and had a team-high 21 stolen bases.

Fulton was a standout catcher for the Chiefs.

He graduated from Bellefontaine in 2000.

Fulton then graduated from the Air Force Academy.

He continues to serve our country as a pilot in the Air Force.

Chris Walden shined in football, bowling, and baseball.

He holds the school record for passing yards in a game (369).

Walden was a First-Team CBC selection at quarterback.

He led the Chiefs bowling team to two state appearances.

Walden tossed a pair of 300 games and had the team’s high average.

The hard-throwing right-hander really made his mark in baseball.

Chris holds school records for career wins (31), ERA (1.02), and strikeouts (262).

He fired 8 career no-hitters.

Walden helped the Chiefs advance to the state tournament in ’04 and ’06.

He earned 4 varsity letters in baseball and signed with the University of Kentucky.

Walden graduated from BHS in 2006.

The 1999 boys track team finished 3rd at the Division II state meet.

Junior Keith Roberts won the state title in the 110 hurdles.

Jorrell Johnson placed 3rd in long jump.

Adam Hall raced to a fourth-place finish in the 1600.

Howard Traul finished 6th in pole vault.

Ben Davis was the head coach.

Larry Young and Jim Robinson were assistant coaches.

The Chiefs also captured CBC, district, and regional titles that season.

Jim McDonald was a wrestling coach at Bellefontaine for 30 years.

He developed several outstanding wrestlers who competed at the state tournament.

Through Jim’s hard work, enthusiasm, and leadership, the Chieftain wrestling program remained successful.

Jim is the namesake of the “Jimmy Mac” Invitational hosted by BHS.

McDonald is also a member of the Greater Miami Valley Wrestling Association Hall of Fame.

McDonald retired from Bellefontaine in 2001.

He passed away in November.

Longtime team physician Dr. Art Costin has been chosen for the hall of fame.

Costin, who graduated from BHS, has been on the Chiefs’ sidelines for 46 seasons.

His office has provided physical exams to BHS athletes for many years.

Art’s late father, Jim, was the team doctor.

Art’s son, Scott, also serves as a team doctor.

Art has been a longtime donor to Chieftain Athletics.

Finally, the Bellefontaine Athletic Boosters have chosen two award recipients.

The Dutch Wilde Award will be presented to Bill Boy.

The Booster Award recipient is Iron City Sports Bar in Bellefontaine.

The hall of fame ceremony will be held between the JV and varsity boys basketball games vs. Tecumseh.

A reception for the inductees will begin at 5:30 p.m. in the BHS Distance Learning Center.

Photos from top to bottom: Somer Spain, Ben Fulton, Chris Walden, Jim McDonald, and Dr. Art Costin

Ben Fulton

Chris Walden

Jim McDonald

Dr. Costin
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2024 SchoolMessenger Corporation. All rights reserved.